Anxiety

This year has been an incredibly challenging year for me. In this 365 day cycle  I was diagnosed with anxiety which should have been an extremely obvious conclusion, but unfortunately it wasn’t.

My senior year I had taken a basic Psychology class and over the summer I was briefly thinking about the fact that maybe, just maybe, I had an anxiety disorder. Coming to this conclusion was not an easy one for me and it was definitely a lot of work discovering what that meant. I am a Grade A Procrastinator and wasn’t clinically diagnosed until my second week of college when I started seeing my lovely school counselor. It was actually an extremely life altering discovery for me because I noticed that I had suffered from anxiety my whole entire life. Things that happened in my past were making sense and I could finally fully understand what the experiences I had in my life truly were, which were panic attacks.

If you have been following my blog, you know that I have decided to work on myself lately and discover who I truly am which definitely was a result of my low self esteem due to Anxiety. I suffer from three different types of panic attacks, all having different triggers, some of which I have not uncovered yet. With that being said, Mental Health Week has recently passed. To be honest, I was very afraid to admit to people that I had to go to counseling because you never want people to believe that there is something wrong with you. Not everyone understands anxiety and mental health issues but they’re extremely important to become aware of and that was the best thing I could have ever done. Embracing my anxiety and realizing that it is not a bad thing is going to benefit me in the long run, I just have to fully put in the work to figure it all out.

If you, or anyone you know, suffers from a mental health disorder please consider getting help. I swear by counseling, it was one of the best things for me.

One thought on “Anxiety

Leave a comment